Aivars Starikovs, Latvian Hydrogen Association board member, appointed as a new Board member of Hydrogen Europe

During today’s (June 25th, 2024) General Assembly, Hydrogen Europe members voted to appoint 7 new members of the Board of Directors. The new Board members, as leaders in the sector, will contribute to steer the Association’s ambitions as Hydrogen Europe keep working to propel global carbon neutrality.

The newly elected members are:

  • Stefano Innocenzi, President Europe West, LINDE representing Industry
  • Tom Hautekiet, Chief Business Transition Officer, Port of Antwerp-Bruges representing Infrastructure
  • Piero Ercoli, Executive Director Decarbonisation Unit, SNAM representing Infrastructure
  • Dr Danica Maljković, CTO, DOK-ING Indeloop representing SMEs
  • Dr Beate Grota, Executive Vice President Engineering Power Solutions (PS/EE), Robert Bosch representing Techno Providers
  • Sebastian Boden, Vice President Hydrogen Energy Partnerships Europe, Air Liquide representing Transport
  • Aivars Starikovs, Member of the Board, Latvian Hydrogen Association representing EU National Associations
And they will join the current Board members:
  • Sopna Sury, Chair of the Hydrogen Europe Board, COO Hydrogen, RWE Generation representing Energy
  • Tejs Laustsen Jensen, Treasury of the Hydrogen Europe Board, Director, Brintbranchen representing European National Associations
  • Laurent Carme, CTO, OPmobility representing Transport
  • Mark Wilson, CEO Hydrogen Technologies, Johnson Matthey representing Industry
  • Marco Alverà, CEO, Tree Energy Solutions representing SMEs
  • Nils Aldag, CEO, Sunfire representing Techno Providers
  • Valérie Ruiz-Domingo, Group Hydrogen Vice President, ENGIE representing Energy
  • Javier Navarro Espada, General Director Energy, Aragon representing European Regions
in their constant contribution and support to Hydrogen Europe’s vision and mission.

Dr Sopna Sury, Chair of the Hydrogen Europe Board, commented on the new appointments: “We are thrilled to welcome our new board members to the fold and look forward to working with each of them to continue driving the association’s agenda to develop the hydrogen market as a catalyst for decarbonisation and energy market system integration. Our thanks go out to our outgoing board members who have helped Hydrogen Europe and the broader value chain thrive.”  Hydrogen Europe’s CEO Jorgo Chatzimarkakis added “We are delighted to boost our board of driven and enthusiastic members. Together we will work to deliver the ambitions of the twin transition for a decarbonised and digitalised EU, reducing strategic dependencies and ensuring the sustainability, prosperity, competitiveness, and resilience of European economies.” 

The new Board of Directors is looking forward to working together with the next institutional mandate to ensure that the objectives laid out in the Green Deal are met on time with a thriving European industrial base creating jobs and growth for Europeans.